The Move Part 8

Part 8
When I got in, I noticed the walls were big and white. The ceiling was made of glass so you could see the sky. Escalators went zooming up and down. Elevator button sounds were clinging to my ears. It all made me feel so small. I strolled around, stopping here and there to look around. I haven’t been to this mall before, I only knew where it was because once I saw some teenagers exchanging directions to each other. There was a humongous green plant that felt fake, a fountain big enough to be a lake, everything! I looked for a store that might have a scooter. I would still keep my old scooter, since my dad bought it for me, and he’s not here anymore…
I saw mountains of purses in a little hallway store thing. I don’t need those, because my scooter will probably have a nice, roomy, pouch. Probably. Besides, I didn’t like purses anyway. I skipped past. Finally, I saw a bike and scooter store. On the second floor. I used the elevator. It was empty. I pushed number two and it started off. I felt a little shaking in the elevator once I was just about in the middle. I heard something that sounded like a puff. And then………………….
It stopped, right in the middle! “Help! Help!”, I screeched, pressing my hands against the glass. It was a glass elevator, just like the ceiling. And it was really high. And really stuck! I banged against it. No one could hear me. I pounded and pounded until my hand turned red and bruised. I screamed on the top of my lungs. No one could hear me! It was the glass. I wish I could break it! But I had nothing to use! And no one could through a hammer up, because of course it would probably hurt me. What if I was trapped here forever? What if I’d die of hunger or thirst?
What if…
My thoughts got interrupted. Someone saw me! I could hardly hear what they were saying. It was a bald dude, wearing what looked like an old sweatshirt. Who wears a sweatshirt in the summer? Was he hiding something? Well who cares! He was gonna call the fire department and they were gonna save me! At least, I think. Those are usually who save people in a situation like mine, right? Anyways, I was gonna get out! I know, not much of a big deal, just an elevator, but nothing had ever really happened to me. I saw the guy take out his cellphone. I still don’t have a cellphone. I mean, if I did, don’t you think I would have called for help? I couldn’t hear what the bald dude was saying. The glass was too thick. I waited. And waited. No one came. Maybe he wasn’t going to save me. Maybe he was just shouting to someone on the second floor. Maybe he was just talking on his phone. Maybe I was going to be here for longer than I thought.

To be continued…

Leave a comment